Spokane Police Abuses: Past to Present

The People of Spokane vs. Law Enforcement Abuse, Impunity, Corruption, and Cover-up

Archive for December 20th, 2007

More From CragCrawler — Running off his arse and running down the Idaho State Legislature

Posted by Arroyoribera on December 20, 2007

We last caught up with CragCrawler when he was chatting with USMCGunnerM4 about the Spokane Police Department’s plans to hire 44 more policemen over the next couple years.
*************
(By the way, it appears that USMCGunnerM4 is Spokane County Corrections Officer Ian Purcell)
*************
Here CragCrawler discusses his testing to become part of the Idaho State Patrol.
*************
___________________________________________________________________________
habeas corpus
09-20-2007, 03:49 PM
Anyone else recently take the ISP test? Wondering if you have gotten the results yet? Also do you know when the next phases will be held? Good Luck.

CragCrawler
09-20-2007, 05:40 PM
I tested for em. To get your questions answered you can call the HR department. They seem to be pretty helpful whenever I have called them. Another option is to call one of the many recruiters and ask them questions. All this can be found by going to their web site.Good Luck

CragCrawler
09-26-2007, 11:37 PM
Just a side note. Contacted ISP HR and they said that applicants will know by the end of the week how they did on the online test (Hopefully!) and if they go on to subsequent phases.

CragCrawler
10-03-2007, 07:10 PM
Got an email and I am heading to Meridian for the physical agility and the oral.

trouttrooper
10-03-2007, 08:08 PM
good luck!!

CragCrawler
10-03-2007, 11:50 PM
Thanks…not to worried about it (yet :D ) Noticed that the physical agility is pretty difficult to get a full score. Good thing I have been running my arse off!

trouttrooper
10-04-2007, 11:47 PM
That reminds me, our physical fitness day is coming up next month, I need to start working on the 1 1/2 mile again…….man I hate asthma.

CragCrawler
10-05-2007, 01:15 AM
That reminds me, our physical fitness day is coming up next month, I need to start working on the 1 1/2 mile again…….man I hate asthma.Are the requirements for the established troopers the same as the recruits?

trouttrooper
10-05-2007, 10:07 AM
If ISP follows the same physical requirements as POST then yes. I don’t know if ISP goes above and beyond the POST minimums when hiring.21 pushups
15 situps in 1 minute (I think, can’t remember exact number now)
14 inch vertical jump (maybe 12, again can’t remember)
300 meters in 77 seconds
1 1/2 mile in 17:17Once you get through all the inital stuff with ISP you never have to do physical fitness testing again. Fish and Game game wardens (me :D) are the only LE in Idaho who test twice a year and can be let go if you don’t pass….After considerable support and help from the department first. No one’s been let go that I know of.

CragCrawler
10-20-2007, 08:05 PM
Just got back from Boise. Orals went good and got 92 points out of a possible 100 for physical agility. I feel confident that I passed the orals but you never can know for sure right ;) we’ll find out in a few weeks!

CragCrawler
11-03-2007, 01:37 AM
Found out that I passed the Orals. Now they are going to start the Background check then on to the poly.
I have done one other poly for another department. Are all poly’s pretty much the same or are they different by agency? What is the poly like for ISP?

trouttrooper
11-03-2007, 09:52 AM
Congrats.Not sure how ISP’s poly is but mine was pretty simple, just questions to make sure you didn’t lie on any part of your application etc. No surprise questions.I believe we use the same “test”

nrneuha
11-23-2007, 10:53 AM
Good luck with that, ISP takes a long time, I heard average is 11 month hiring process

towncop
11-23-2007, 04:36 PM
How about the OP? Is he/she still in the process??

CragCrawler
11-25-2007, 11:01 PM
Good luck with that, ISP takes a long time, I heard average is 11 month hiring processThe Process has actually been moving right along. August 27th is when they posted the announcement. September 19 is when they closed it. Then on the 19th of October I flew to meridian and had the Physical fitness exam and oral boards. November 1st I received a letter stating I passed the oral board and that they were going to start my BI. They said by the end of November they are going to call me to schedule a polygraph, medical, and psych! They are trying to get us into the march POST academy.

trouttrooper
11-29-2007, 01:20 PM
POST, then ISP academy, the FTO. Takes about a year.March is a good time to be in Meridian. Not too hot yet and winter is pretty much over.

CragCrawler
12-09-2007, 11:24 PM
I was talking to one of the troopers and they mentioned that ISP does not have any unmarked cars. He didn’t know why, do any of you know why the ISP does not have unmarked cars? Do all departments throughout the state like this?

TrooperDB
12-10-2007, 12:37 PM
By Idaho Code ISP has to patrol in marked units, with the ISP decals, white stripes, black car, and white roof… This is all because a State legislature was mad when he got a speeding ticket from an unmarked.

CragCrawler
12-11-2007, 12:34 AM
By Idaho Code ISP has to patrol in marked units, with the ISP decals, white stripes, black car, and white roof… This is all because a State legislature was mad when he got a speeding ticket from an unmarked.Thats pretty lame if you ask me. It’s a good way to catch reckless drivers from the rides that I have been on in unmarked cruisers.On another subject, I have been reading on some of the Idaho laws and their fines (Traffic) and I noticed that seat belt tickets are only $10 fine and you have to pull them over for something else to get them for it. It almost seems not worth it. Is their anything in the future that would change this (the fine or the pull over rule) or is Idaho pretty much set with what they have?

trouttrooper
12-11-2007, 10:42 AM
No unmarked but the chargers in my area are slick tops. Add that to the charger being new and not easily identified as a cop car when coming towards you it’s almost as effective as unmarked.

Posted in History of SPD Abuses | Leave a Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,234 other followers