Spokane Police Abuses: Past to Present

The People of Spokane vs. Law Enforcement Abuse, Impunity, Corruption, and Cover-up

Tell Your Story of Police Abuse in Spokane

Posted by Arroyoribera on June 12, 2010

Members of the Spokane community active in police oversight are gathering stories to strengthen the case that the citizens of Spokane are in need of real and meaningful oversight of the Spokane Police Department.

Some very powerful community stories were told at the May 24, 2010 City Council meeting. Those testimonies can be viewed at the City of Spokane website. Go to this link:

http://www.spokanecity.org/services/citycable5/streamingmedia/

Then click on “City Council Meetings” and, finally, click on “May 24, 2010″. Allow the video to load completely so that the full functionality is available (which can take several minutes at least depending on your connection) and then go 100 minutes into the proceedings (somewhat short of half way through the video).

Despite a history of years of abuses, corruption, and killings of citizens, there continue to be members of the Spokane community, the media and the city government who express the view that the Spokane Police require no independent oversight.

We are inviting community members to write a few paragraphs describing what has occurred to you or friends and family at the hands of the Spokane Police Department (the city of Spokane). Details are important, in particular, locations because we intend to put them on a map and present it to the City Council on June 21.

As you decide whether or not to identify yourself in your comment, please keep in mind that we will be presenting these stories to the City Council as part of our effort to show them the extent of abuses in our community.

One Response to “Tell Your Story of Police Abuse in Spokane”

  1. My name is Kristina Edwards,

    On March 23,2009 my boyfriend Johnnie Longest was shot and killed by the Spokane Police Department. He had just left me saying he would be right back. Less than five minutes later Johnnie called me. He was driving a stolen Honda and the police were behind him. I was on the phone with Johnnie from the time the chase began untill it ended. I hurried toward Division Street as fast as I could and was about 1/2 block away when Johnnie said to me “Kristina babe I love and always will” Then I heard the one and only gun shot.The phone must have fallen out of his hands and dropped. I screemed “Johnnie Johnnie”. Instead of hearing Johnnie’s voice over the phone I heard someone yelling “we got him, we got him”. I was not alowed to go to him. No one would tell me anything. Two and half hours later, I got a phone call from Johnnie’s step dad saying they just found out he was at Deconess Hospital. The next phone call came only a few seconds later, it was Johnnie’s step dad agin telling me Johnnie didn’t make it. I couldnt believe it …. He was shot for driving a stolen Honda.

    The newspapers and television stories said he had a he had a drug problem, but the autopsy report it showed he had no drugs in his system.

    The stories also said that Johnnie shot a K9 police dog in the head and in the paw.Johnnie was shot in the back, how is he getting shot in his back if he supposedly shot the dog in his head and front paw? How?

    The cops say he was a trouble maker. He only got into trouble 2 times in his life.

    So tell me how in the world could he be shooting a K9, talking to me on the phone and and fighting off police at the same time. I would have heard all that.

    The story told by the Spokane Police Department just does not match the evidence and thier lies contradict each other. I have been carrying this around with me for a year and a half.

    I wish I knew what to do to fight this injustice. I just want the truth to be known .

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,234 other followers

